Some Observations on Social Media

It’s been almost a week since I’ve arrived home and exactly two weeks since I’ve been officially on winter break. Unsurprisingly, I’ve been doing a whole bunch of nothing. And by nothing, I mean sitting on my computer and wasting time.

In addition to the usual time-wasters, I’ve been visiting Pinterest more frequently than ever. At first, I was a little disoriented by their new layout changes, which only goes to show that I haven’t been keeping up with the Joneses when it comes to the Internet. However, once I got acclimated, I now spend chunks of my afternoon diving into the dark depths of “Woman’s Fashion.”

From my adventures in this distinguished category, I have discovered the following:

  • Things in vogue: riding boots, sweaters, chambray, sequins, infinity scarves.
  • Oxblood is apparently a color.
  • You’re not properly modeling clothing unless you’re looking demurely at the ground like this.

But mostly though, Pinterest just makes me want to go shopping and buy everything. If there’s one thing that will keep capitalism alive and strong, it is Pinterest.

The second thing that I’ve been wasting some time on is Twitter. Having been plagued by instances in which I think of something that I’d like to share with others but is too trivial for a Facebook updates, Twitter seems like a good solution. I can tweet my random, inconsequential thoughts without subjecting everyone else to my constant musings.

One thing that I haven’t quite gotten used to yet is using hashtags. It makes everything you write slightly silly. And it’s weird seeing posts from you all in a row and having my 140-character thoughts concentrated in one stream. It brings a new dimension to being able to talk about yourself.

Leave a Reply

